List your Timeshare List your Timeshare | Rate this Resort Rate Resort | Alert Me Alert Me What are Alerts?

Reviews: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Write a Review

Average Rating

4.8 limes 4.8 limes

16 resort reviews

  • Rose

    370 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited July 2012 | Posted 01-22-2013

    Gorgeous resort, great location. This is a great place to stay - away from the crowds of Honolulu - very relaxing. We had a beautiful one bedroom unit. Very spacious - nice balcony, kitchen area, bedroom. Very quiet. There are many amenities to the resort - pools, beach areas, small shop, restaurants. All of the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful.
  • lapd18

    530 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited May 2011 | Posted 07-09-2012

    5 Stars in Paradise. Ko Olina is in the absolute best location you could ask for, but still close enough to the things you want to do. Don't believe what I tell you, go see for yourself.
  • 5 limes

    Visited March 2011 | Posted 01-22-2012

    What a great Resort. Modern, friendly staff great amenities and activities. We stayed in a studio with Marriott Hotel points and it was great. With a new tower being built they've added a pool and have a great beach front. Very family friendly.
  • 5 limes

    Visited July 2011 | Posted 10-18-2011

    Stayed in a gorgeous 2-BR room at Ko Olina. Most comfy bed we've ever stayed in! Loved the kitchen too - lots of counter space and room to cook. The grounds are immaculate and all staff are very friendly. We spent a lot of time down at the beach soaking up the sun and snorkeling. We ate at Longboards and were very pleased each time, the food was delicious. The pools and jacuzzis were great, and the adults-only areas are an added bonus. The fitness area has a sauna and steam room - way cool! We're definitely going back.
  • Heathpack

    570 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited March 2010 | Posted 08-14-2011

    Awesome resort on a gentle man-made lagoon in the quiet KoOlina resort. Great pools and hot tubs, including an adult-only hot tub with an ocean view. Beautiful tropical landscaping, upscale decor, multiple restaurants.
  • THSMTHS

    430 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited March 2010 | Posted 07-25-2011

    I am not sure how much there is to say about paradise. We have visited the resort 3x and still have not seen and done everything there is to do. There is nothing like a cool drink and a beautiful view of the ocean. We enjoy walking, snorkeling, swimming and many of the other things the island has to offer. It has a rich history. (Pearl Harbor, Iiolani Palace etc.) On the back side of the island are quaint restaurants, shrimp trucks and beaches where sea turtles come to rest. One of our favorite spots is a secluded beach just south of the air force base with crystal sugar sand, turquoise water in close and sapphire out beyond the reef. "50 first dates" was filmed at the sea park where they have a beautiful animal called a wholphin. (cross between a whale and dolphin) Oh yes...and the units are fabulous too!
  • Gar

    1930 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited August 2010 | Posted 05-14-2011

    We liked Ko Olina so much after staying there in 2008, we bought a unit in 2009 and have been going back there every year since. The property is beautiful and pleasant with lots of palm trees and flowers. The best part is, its not crowded like Maui! Owners have access to a private beach that has 3 lagoons. It's a very well designed, clean, secluded beach area. There is a free shuttle that takes people to the Marriott Golf Club (where Roy's is located) close by and the Marriott Hotel about 2 minutes down the road. The location is great. You are about 5-10 minutes away from Costco, Safeway and Long's Drugs. There is a shopping plaza in the same area. You can find lots of restaurants there as well. Check out the Fia Fia Show at Ko Olina. In my opinion, its the best Luau in all of Hawaii.

    If you want some excitement, head to Waikiki Beach in downtown Honolulu, about 30 minutes away.

    Well-equipped fitness center. Friendly & helpful staff. The prices at the onsite Kolohe's Beach Bar & Grill were moderate and happy hour was very reasonable (3-5 PM).
  • ewjesq

    230 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited August 2010 | Posted 03-25-2011

    A wonderful resort! Great restaurants and amenities. Beautiful and luxurious rooms, baths, and great kitchen. Spacious front entertainment room.

    Many activities for kids and adults. Numerous pools and also salt water lagoons.

    Helpful staff. Wonderful vacation spot!!!

    Highly recommend it.
  • CDarden

    380 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited December 2009 | Posted 06-25-2010

    Had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club. We were in the Mohana tower-2 bedroom lock off on the ground floor. We were right by the BBQs, pool and a beautiful grassy area that the kids could play on. Snorkeling was amazing - that seems to be common with the other reviews. The pool with the waterslide and waterfalls was very warm and a lot of fun. We also enjoyed the $2 snow cones almost every day! We took advantage of the free trolley that rides around Ko Olina. Take it down to the JW Marriott and see the hammerhead sharks and sting rays in their lagoons.

    We went on the Ko Olina cat sunset cruise and had the most remarkable time. We saw a mother whale and her calf. The mother gave us quite a show by breaching 7 times! We went to the Paradise Cove Luau and had a fun time. Lots of activities to do if you don't mind waiting in lines. We also golfed 2x at the Ko Olina golf course - very pretty course with great views.

    tip: Hit the Costco and buy food for the week. Saved us $ and made eating out more enjoyable because it wasn't required. It was a wonderful trip. Wish we were back
  • GolfNut

    300 Juice

    4 limes

    Visited March 2010 | Posted 06-09-2010

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Ko Olina Club. It's very kid friendly and you don't feel like they are nickel and diming you every time you turn around. Except for the parking of $30 per day. Wasn't happy with that.

    If you like to eat out, the options for restaurants on the property are limited. There are two restaurants and a luau that occurs once a week. The luau was pretty good – food and entertainment were decent. The food at the two resorts restaurants was also good. Also, close to the hotel is a Roy’s restaurant at the Ko Olina Golf Club and there are a couple of restaurants at the JW Marriott Ihilani Resort. Both are within walking distance.

    The resort is also within 10 mins of the town of Kapolei. In Kapolei, there is a Target, Costco, Safeway, multiplex movie theater, and many casual dining options (i.e. Chili’s, Outback Steakhouse etc). This is where you will go to do any of your shopping and provides additional casual dining-out options.

    I recommend that you rent a car. You need a car to go anywhere outside the resort or around the island. If you have time, take a trip up to the North Shore. Go grab some shrimp at Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck. We really enjoyed seeing turtles swim up to the beach and having shave ice at Matsumoto. It was excellent!
  • hawaii1

    610 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited January 2010 | Posted 06-04-2010

    We loved our stay at the Ko Olina Beach Club. Marriott treated us right. Thank you! We stayed on a trade with a friend. This resort is awesome. The kids were so sad when we were leaving. I might consider buying here. Our friends were very gracious to trade with us. They did it to avoid exchange fees with Interval. Free!

    Here are 3 reasons why this place is great:

    1) Kids Club – The resort has activities every day for kids besides the pool options. If your kids want a break from the pool and sun, there are many different indoor activities to choose from. Some are free of charge and some cost a fee. However, the activities seemed geared more towards younger kids (12 and under) rather than teenagers.

    2) Kid friendly Lagoons– This made it very safe to let our kids in the ocean. Resort is located on the west side of the island of Oahu. The resort sits in one of eight man-made lagoons. The lagoons are tranquil and make for the perfect opportunity for young kids to wade into the ocean without concern about strong undercurrents. It’s like swimming in a pool (but in the ocean). If the lagoon in front of the resort gets too crowded, you can walk along a paved path to one of the adjacent lagoons located on either side of the resort. They are less crowded and just as beautiful. The paved path is also a great place to go running. Beach chairs are free at the resort lagoon and there is $35/day charge for cabana rentals.

    3) Good Kid Pools – There are 3 pools on the property. One is a quiet pool, geared towards adults. This is a fantastic idea. The other two pools are great for kids. There is a toddler wading pool that re-creates a “beach” where kids can wade directly into the pool. It’s shallow enough for kids to stand and this pool was my 5-year old’s favorite location at the resort. She doesn't swim well yet. There is also another larger pool with lovely waterfalls and a pretty fast waterslide that my 8-year old loved. Plenty of Jacuzzis are located around the resort for the kids to use. The jacuzzis are not chlorine smelling baths either. They smell fresh. It's very nice.
  • 5 limes

    Visited November 2009 | Posted 06-04-2010

    The Marriott Ko Olina is a wonderful place to stay. I'm not sure this was the absolute best time to stya in Hawaii but the weather was fine. I was torn between 4-5 limes but I chose 5 because we loved it here. The staff is fantastic and really helpful. Marriott does this very well.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is a great resort for families and young kids. I would not recommend it for couples as the place is filled with kids. But, if you have young kids, this place is truly a dream. There's a bunch of activities for kids at the resort. Enjoy.
  • 4 limes

    Visited June 2007 | Posted 06-03-2010

    Ko olina is on the island of Honolulu but it is not Waikiki. They are about 20 mins apart. There seems to be confusion about this.

    About the resort:
    At the Ko olina Beach Club, the view from the room that we got was very disappointing but given that we were in Hawaii we tried to make the best of it. However, it was windy everyday which made the balcony worthless. (If you are on the ocean side the resort blocks most of the wind and you can see sunset).

    -Check in was easy and we were able to get into out two bedroom a few hours early which was nice.
    -They offered valet parking for $5 a day which is not needed. There is a parking garage with elevator access that seemed to be more convenient than using a valet.
    -It was a nice two bedroom with kitchen which we have grown accustomed to from the MVC. Nothing different about this and it was spacious for two adults and two teens (After day six it was getting a little small!!!!)
    -The pools were clean, grounds were well kept and the service was great.
    -There is not a need to 'grab' your seats at 8 am as there were plenty of loungers in the pool area and beach.
    -The beach was great and the water was perfect. If you choose to snorkel it's $10 and worth it. Lagoon two is better as it had turtles and more fish.

    About the Location:
    This resort is great if you want to get to a destination and stay there all week. Other than additional hotels on the property (Marriott and a Disney construction zone) it is near nothing that one would wish to go to on a vacation (Fifteen minutes to a Target, Safeway, Costco, Chili's, Outback etc). It is an additional 15-20 minutes to anywhere else. (40 minutes to Honolulu for dinner, 30 minutes to Pearl Harbor).
  • 4 limes

    Visited November 2008 | Posted 06-02-2010

    Certainly not the finest Marriott property in the showcase but the Ko olina Beach Club is clean and with a nice location on the beach. You'll have the classic Marriott service by the pool and acceptable food. They need to look into having better food options. There's snorkeling on the beach that is reasonably priced.

    And you'll have an easier time getting into Ko olina than you will other Marriott properties in Hawaii.The rooms are not large enough and the amenities are not as good as the newer resorts but you'll be comfortable.
  • mwollert

    120 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited July 2009 | Posted 03-31-2010

    Marriott Ko Olina is a great secluded location on Oahu. It is about 40 minutes from Honolulu. The previous review that states that it is across the street from the busiest beach (Waikiki Beach) has mistaken the Marriott Waikiki Hotel and Spa as Ko Olina. Ko Olina is not in Waikiki. Wolf Gang Pucks is across the street from the Waikiki Marriott.

    Ko Olina has 3 pools, 1 of which has a sand beach like entrance. It sits on a cove like beach that is very large and very private. There are lots of fish and turtles to see when snorkeling. There are several areas to BBQ and 2 restaurants on site More restaurants within walking distance at the JW Marriott.

    The one and two bedrooms are well equiped with all the things you need. Free wireless internet.

    Unlike Waikiki, you will need a car to get to Ko Olina. Marriott is aware of this and charges you $30 a night to park the car. Kind of a rip off as this resort is out by itself on the island.

    Defiantly a first class resort.
  • Erick

    2200 Juice

    5 limes

    Visited August 2008 | Posted 10-22-2009

    It's a beautiful resort and yet still right there in the middle of the action across from the beach. The service is 1st class. There are 2 pools so you never feel too crowded. They decorate the area to feel like you are on a remote island. Hard to imagine you are right across the street from one of the busiest beaches in the world. The food and drinks poolside are great but not too pricey (remember, it is Hawaii).
    One of the best things we did was grab some sandwiches from Wolfgang Puck's place down the street and sit on the beach and watch the sunset. FANTASTIC! Just relax and watch one of the most amazing sunsets you will ever see.
    I recommend taking the bus to see Pearl Harbor. TIP of the day: get your tix for this way in advance. They will sell out so don't wait. We saw many people lose out. And get there EARLY at least an hour before it opens because the line is lonnnnng.
    Diamond Head is impressive but be careful it is not too hot that day. And make sure to bring plenty of water. It's a healthy walk :)